New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hunting Boot Advice
 Login/Join

posted
Hey Guys,
I just got a question for ya'll, Im kind of new to hunting and I was looking for some advice on a good pair of hunting boots. I do most of my hunting in Texas, and it requires lots of walking most of the time. There are not many times where im just sitting in very cold weather or anything. I am also looking for a lightweight boot with failry good ankle support. I am also looking to spend only about $150-$200 if possible. That being said, the 2 boots I have been looking at are the:

Cabela's Kagaroo GTX Pinnacle Series,.....and
Danner Pronghorn GTX

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions as to which boot I should go with, or if there are ANY other boots that ya'll think might be good for what I am going to be doing.

Thanks a lot,
Ian

Posts: 7 | Location: Texas | Registered: 02 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post
Also take a look at Cabela's outfitter series. I can't say enough good things about mine, and my Danners leak like a sieve. HTH, Dutch.

Posts: 4564 | Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA | Registered: 21 September 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
NBW, I don't have any experience with the Danner boots, I have been told they make good quality products, and our County SWAT team members all wear them, my friend who is the sniper for the team likes his very much, they wear a tactical model from Danner. I DO have a pair of the Cabela's Kangaroo and like them very much. I wear a 'd' size boot, and a lot of boots seem wide to me despite them being a medium size which is supposed to correlate with a 'd', having said that if other boots you wear seem snug as far as width goes these might be a hair snug in that regard--the kangaroo leather does seem very flexible, i.e. having an ability to conform to your feet. In short I really like mine

Good Luck--Don.

Posts: 3563 | Location: GA, USA | Registered: 02 August 2004Reply With Quote
one of us