New
Find
Notify
Tools

Turkey hunting education?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Is there someplace that has a good read on how to turkey hunt? I'm not a novice hunter, but I am a novice turkey hunter. And I understand turkey hunting can be very challenging and detail oriented. I have a friend who told me he went 12 times before he didn't mess something up. I would like to try and cut down that number for myself.
Maybe a book on how to hunt turkeys?

Sand Creek November 29 1864

Posts: 1511 | Location: cul va | Registered: 25 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Personally if you can hunt deer you can kill turkeys. I haven't found them to hard to hunt.

I killed my bird Thursday in a blinding snow storm.

They were not responding to calls so I snuck up on a group of 7 hens 3 gobblers picked the biggest one out and wacked him at 40 yards.

I have killed them by calling,still hunting, ambushing and stalking them.

As with any critter one hunts learn their habits be prepared to change as they do.

One big disadvantage for them is they don't worry about smell. I killed a turkey the first time I went out I don't think I ever failed on filling my turkey tag.

If your a good hunter you can kill turkeys.

Posts: 19432 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of edholum
posted Hide Post
You won't like this answer, but the best way to learn to turkey hunt is to get out in the field and go turkey hunting. I've had the pleasure to hunt turkeys in many different states and turkeys act differently depending on where they live. For me, Easterns tend to roost wherever they end up at dusk, whereas Merriams' will go great lengths to roost in the same tree night after night. In short, scouting the patterns and habits of the turkeys you will be hunting will give you the best shot at breaking a beak.

For information, I really like the NWTF website and I would recommend becoming a member.