New
Find
Notify
Tools

Choosing Powder & Primers
 Login/Join

<AZOnecam>
posted
I'm new to reloading, and was just wondering how you go determining which powder you should use in a given situation.

I'm going to be reloading my first batch of .300 Wby Mag soon, and I have the cases/bullets on order, but I have no idea which brand & type of powder & primers to use.

The bullets I'm getting are all 150 grain. (CT Ballistic Silver Tip Hunting and Hornady SST)

Also, any pet loads out there for this caliber?

Thanks,
Jason

one of us
posted Hide Post
I try to keep it simple.

I first choose the bullet I want. For hunting I start with heavy-for-caliber first. Sometimes I'll later find the rifle won't stabilize the heavy ones so I'll have to lighten up. (I don't know why they rifle barrels for light bullets in cartridges that are not typically long range/target cartridges) For instance I bet you will find your .300WM will shoot the 180-200gr better than the 220gr. Go figure as the 220 is a better long range performer and differences in point-blank ranges between the weights are moot on big game animals.

Then I go to a couple of manuals and if it's a hunting load I'm after, just pick the two powders for that weight bullet that appear to give the highest velocity with the lowest pressure. This is not 100% reliable as an indicator of efficiency because of differing barrel lengths and chamber dimensions. But it's a thumbnail method.

If one of those is a ball (spherical) powder so much the better. I'm trying to ease all my pet loads over to ball powders as they measure well and usually are denser so I can stuff those long heavy hunting bullets down into the case. The tradeoff is you may want to go to magnum primers with large amounts of ball powder as it tends to be harder to ignite. That doesn't necessarily reduce accuracy, though.