New
Find
Notify
Tools

Unguided Hunts
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been hunting for a few years now, since I came of legal age to hunt deer here in Michigan, and have been looking into some other hunts out-of-state. My dad and his hunting partner have both been to Alaska before on self-guided hunts, and we also may go out west in the future. The problem is that I really have no desire to follow a guide, being shown how to hunt, and what to shoot, I am far too independent to be instructed in a recreational activity that actually gives me a chance to get away from people. Smiler

Anyway, I have looked into unguided hunts for caribou, bear and moose in Alaska as well as going out west for pronghorn, elk, or mulies. I also know that members of this site have hunted every corner of the globe and know of many hunting opportunities that I may not be aware of. I have heard of Chasse Libre hunts in CAR, Cameroon and even Zimbabwe, but really I know very little of them.

So what other opportunities are out there for an unguided hunter these day? Africa? Asia? I'm all ears for any other interesting hunting destinations.

-Casey

Posts: 58 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 24 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Matt Norman
posted Hide Post
Gibson,

How many guided hunts have you been on?

I beg to differ that a guided hunt means you are simply led to the critter and shoot it. I too live in Michigan (and I have lived in Wyoming and lived in Alaska). If I only have a week or two to work with, I hire an established outfitter who knows all the ins and outs of the area to increase my chances of getting onto game. I simply don't have the time to travel to Wyoming, Alaska, or whereever and scout and learn all the things necessary.