Find
Notify
Tools

Advice on 12ga rifled slugs
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of TOP_PREDATOR
posted
I got a short barrel with rifle sights and rifled choke tube with my new remington 11-87,I have never used rifled slugs before.I know you guys in the states are big on shooting whitetails with shotguns,has anyone tried slugs on Elk or moose? I am keen to try slugs on some feral cattle this winter.

"Never in the field of human conflict
was so much owed by so many to so few." Sir Winston Churchill

Posts: 1871 | Location: Throughout the British Empire | Registered: 08 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of buckeyeshooter
posted Hide Post
For larger game I would suggest the newer Copper Solid type slugs. The Remington copper solids have shot very well in my 11-87 slug gun with the cantilever barrel and full rifling. I get .75" groups at 100 yards with the (now Discontinued) 1 3/8 oz product and 1.25" groups with the 1 oz product. I have not tried the new 1 3/8 oz hardcast lead product. I find it very hard to beat the copper solid. Penetration on whitetail has been chest to hip and the whitetail I shot with one this year field dressed at 235 pounds.
If you are a Federal Fan, they have the Barnes copper solid loaded also. Definately worth trying.

Posts: 5708 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 02 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of bowhuntrrl
posted Hide Post