New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best Wool Coat
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am looking for a quality cold weather wool coat. Have seen Sleeping Indian gear. What others do you like?

one of us
Picture of jackfish
posted Hide Post
Filson Double Mackinaw

You learn something new everyday whether you want to or not.

Posts: 1080 | Location: Western Wisconsin | Registered: 21 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I guess I should add that I am looking for an extreme cold weather Coat for sitting those longs days during a Saskatchewan deer hunt.

One of Us
Picture of 308Sako
posted Hide Post
Tracker I have been hunting Saskatchewan since 1988 and use both the sleeping Indian and Filson. I use the Filson for the really cold days...

Member NRA, SCI- Life #358 28+ years now!
DRSS, double owner-shooter since 1983, O/U .30-06 Browning Continental set.

Posts: 3611 | Location: LV NV | Registered: 22 October 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of george roof
posted Hide Post
Tracker, trust me on this one: wool is the LAST thing you want in Saskatchewan for a deer hunt. Unless you're going on an unguided hunt, there are much better options. Wool is perfect for hunting in situations where you may get wet, but it is far from the best insulator in -20 to -30 degree temps. I've been several times. I put on a thin pair of polypropylene long john underwear. Then I put on a heavy pair of polypropylene which will add to the wicking of body heat. A pair of fleece pants and a Wind stopper pull over sweather is worn. Then I wear a goose down jacket. I wear heavy mukluk style pack boots rated at -100 and a Windstopper cap. Then of course, you have to wear your white coveralls and orange cap. I wear one of the belt muffs sold by Cabelas with several heat packs in them and thin leather gloves.