Find
Notify
Tools

Results with Tipped TSX?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted
There have been a few threads referencing problems with Barnes TSX. While I have been using Barnes for about 20 years and have never experienced any failures some folks have had problems with bullets not expanding.
Does anyone have any results with the Tipped TSX on game? Maybe they are Barnes way of "fixing" the non opening of petals that some folks seem to have experienced on the smaller calibers?

Have gun- Will travel
The value of a trophy is computed directly in terms of personal investment in its acquisition. Robert Ruark

Posts: 3828 | Location: Cave Creek, AZ | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Been using them since they came out a few years ago. My sons and I have taken elk, mule deer and antelope with no failures. Everything seems to die rather quickly after being struck by one of them, and they've always gave total penetration, even on the 2 elk. We like 'em!

Posts: 1148 | Location: The Hunting Fields | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Scott King
posted Hide Post
Used the ttsx last year on a mulie buck in New Mexico. Good hit on the first shot at about 180 yds, dropped at the second. Recovered neither bullet.

I like the Barnes bullet and use it almost exclusively. Last years bull moose fell at the shot with a tsx. Its accurate, retains weight and looks more neat-o in the magazine than the standard copper jacket lead core bullet.

Posts: 9141 | Location: Dillingham Alaska | Registered: 10 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Todd Williams
posted Hide Post