Find
Notify
Tools

Svalbard and huge ice bears
 Login/Join

<Per577>
posted
Hey guys !

Tell me what gun or guns you would choose staying at SVALBARD with high ice-bear population,,,and being there for twelwe months,,what an adventure !
Please tell me why you would chose these guns !

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have no experience of bear hunting. But I would go for .300 wby at least with 180-200 gr premium bullets! Maybe I am a little bit biased about my favourite caliber [Wink] ... But I guess a good .416 will be safer. As a stopper I mean.

Posts: 552 | Location: France | Registered: 21 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of John Y Cannuck
posted Hide Post
I think the 338WM would be my personal rifle. It has the range, and the smack, and I can shoot it well. Then I'd like to try a 375HH, but I don't own one of those.

Posts: 872 | Location: Lindsay Ontario Canada | Registered: 14 April 2001Reply With Quote
<JOHAN>
posted
Hmm

I would go for a 338-404 or a 375-404. I can't make up my mind if I should have the G&A version or the Saeed version [Big Grin] Loaded with barnes X or nosler partitions.

I almost forgot my claymore belt as a final resort [Big Grin] [Big Grin] [Big Grin]

The rifle would be a McBros. with synthetic stock and nice scope. Polars are a true challenger by any means. Around 700 kilos and likes two legged burritos [Big Grin] [Big Grin]

/ JOHAN

One of Us
Picture of Wstrnhuntr
posted Hide Post
Why Id just take one of them cape buffalo slaying 45-70s with the new wonder bullets of corse..!

Posts: 10160 | Location: Tooele, Ut | Registered: 27 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Ever read Fred Bears story about trying to take a Polar bear with a bow? Most of the ones he shot, charged him imediately. Make the first shot count.

Posts: 872 | Location: Lindsay Ontario Canada | Registered: 14 April 2001Reply With Quote
<DennisE>
posted