New
Find
Notify
Tools

New scope
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
After reading posts here and a few other sights I think I might have to re-scope my .300 win. I am looking to go west to hunt at least once a year, I'm just starting to handload and would like to shoot some extended ranges. My question is what scope and what reticle? Do I get a reticle like a mil-dot or a scope that you adjust elevation according to range? Keep in mind I'm new at this, longest shot to date at whitetail was 379 paces next to longest shot was 286 paces( pre range finder days) Thanks Chain

Windage and elevation, Mrs. Langdon, windage and elevation...

Posts: 944 | Location: michigan | Registered: 16 December 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
What scope do you have now? In the big game hunting that I am familar with there is no time to fool around adjusting the sights. I hold over, under and to the side depending on the circumstances.

If possible I now use a laser to determine distances beforehand.

Join the NRA

Posts: 5543 | Registered: 09 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of C1PNR
posted Hide Post
Both my 300 win mag and I like the Leupold Vari-X III in 3.5 - 10.

I feel if I'm not happy with what I see at 10X, I need to get closer! Wink

Regards,

WE

Posts: 312 | Location: SW Idaho | Registered: 02 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Reloader
posted Hide Post
I've always been a "hold-over" shooter and it has worked many times but, w/ todays mordern technology, there is no more need for the guessing days.

I bought a Burris Fullfield II w/ Ballistic Plex a year ago and got to test it out on a couple of rifles this past summer. W/ the right loads and a Good range finder that scope is deadly. I've yet to go past 400 yards w/ it but, this spring I may just for kicks.