New
Find
Notify
Tools

.308win for long range big game?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
As some peple here might remember I have been talking about putting together a long range big game outfit.

Initially I was headed toward the .300RUM but recently I have setelled on the boring old consistent, non exiting .308win.

Partly because I don't do much benchrest(practice) type shooting with a big rifle and the step up might be a little too traumatic, to just go start shooting 50rounds of .300RUM in a day for practice.

The other reason is that I don't have elk or moose where I live, I have small to medium size game. Roe deer no more than 30kg(66lb)
fallow deer around 100kg(220lb) and pigs of similar size, say 120kg (264lb)

Shots out to 500m maybe 600m, under very controlled conditions, and the average would probably be closer to 300 or 400m shots.

Does anyyone here use the .308 for similar purposes?

I have very little experience with the cartridge, so I am putting a lot of trust into what I have read and heard.

The intended rifle should be a Sako heavy barrel varminter, the stock I would like to substitute with a McMillan A-2 and thing that Lapua Scenar bullets.

How does that sound?

Posts: 2283 | Location: Aussie in Italy | Registered: 20 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I own a .300 RUM in a BDL SS and its a real good gun at long range I can easily hit pop cans at 650-700 yds. also with the RUM you can use heavier bullets. The recoil is very stiff though!!! I think you would be happier with the Ultra Mag over the .308. Good Luck In picking your rig [Smile]

Posts: 188 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 24 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
EXPRESS
Your Idea and cartridge choice has great merit, especially for the game you intend to hunt. The 308 has the same "power" at about 550 yards as the 30-30 does at 100 yards. So you have enough velocity left to expand the right bullet at that distance. {more on bullets later].