THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AMERICAN BIG GAME HUNTING FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  American Big Game Hunting    Playing Hide and Seek with a Polar Bear

Moderators: Canuck
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Playing Hide and Seek with a Polar Bear
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of 577NitroExpress
posted
I received these photos in my inbox this morning. I have no idea of the background or who the person in the photo is, and do not know the story behind it or if it is true. It looks like the guy is a photographer perhaps?

There is a photo remaining of the "alleged" victim in the hospital with some nasty scratches and scrapes, but I decided not to post it.

Moral of the story: When photographing bears, carry a gun.

577NitroExpress
Double Rifle Shooters Society
Francotte .470 Nitro Express

If stupidity hurt, a lot of people would be walking around screaming...

Posts: 2789 | Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 08 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I may be wrong but I think they're from Kaktovik, up in the NE corner of Ak. The pickup looks vaguely familiar as the one used by the flying service up there. Yes, there are polar bears up there that regularly go into town. I too have seen these photos but have forgotten who sent them to me.
Bear in Fairbanks

Unless you're the lead dog, the scenery never changes.

I never thought that I'd live to see a President worse than Jimmy Carter. Well, I have.

Gun control means using two hands.

Posts: 1544 | Location: Fairbanks, Ak., USA | Registered: 16 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MuskegMan
posted Hide Post
Here's a couple more.

Polar bear at Barrow airport:

Polar bear trying to get onto Barrow football field:

Posts: 2097 | Location: S.E. Alaska | Registered: 18 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Sevens
posted Hide Post