New
Find
Notify
Tools

BAR or remington 7400?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
i have no experience with semi's. but i need one for a boat gun, how is the reliability of either one, i think the rem. in stainless would be great becasue of the salt. probably in .270? doesnt have to be much of a long range sniper. used mostly for small deer and possibly black bear, any thoughts?

Posts: 111 | Location: eagle river ak | Registered: 01 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
alaskadude
The conditions you describe will be hard on the rifle. If I wanted a semi-auto I would think about a "military" design.
Either an H&K 91 or a Springfield M1-A. I have quite a bit of experience with both and they are accurate and reliable. The M1-A is probably the easiest to find. The short barreled scout type is very handy. They shoot 308 factory hunting loads with no problems.
They are easy to field strip and keep rust free.
They are much handier with 10 round magazines and 5 rounders are avialable if that is a legal requirement for a hunting rifle in your state.
They cost a little more than your listed choices, but in the long run I think you would get better service from one of the military type rifles.

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
BAR without a doubt. Where I used to live we all shot BARs. Most started out with Remingtons because they are cheaper. Not only less expensive, cheaper. Those who did not start with the BAR switched after a few jams. Given your usage, there is no way in hell I would use a Remington 7400. If you myst have a stainless gun and don't want the BAR, get a bolt action. The 7400 craps out quickly when it is less than dinner plate clean.

Posts: 2509 | Location: Kisatchie National Forest, LA | Registered: 20 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post