THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM COMBINATION GUNS AND DRILLINGS FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Combination Guns And Drillings    Does anyone make a bergstutzen like this?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Does anyone make a bergstutzen like this?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to this part of the forum, so first of all, hello and thanks to everyone out there for making this such a great place to spend some time.

Hopefully you can help me find what I'm looking for - or at least save me looking further for something that doesn't exist!

What I'm after is a combination gun that would be suitable for vermin, foxes and deer, and compact enough to keep in the cab as I'm going round the farm doing chores.

I don't feel the need for a smoothbore barrel, but I would like a combination of a .17HMR (or .22WMR) for stoats, squirrels, rabbits, magpies, crows and fox, plus a .243 (or maybe a 30/30) for muntjac and roe deer.

I don't anticipate shooting beyond 150m (a 100m gun would be fine almost all of the time).

Obviously it would in principle be possible to deal with all of these species with just one cartridge. However, UK licensing rules don't allow "deer calibres" (in England and Wales at least 6mm with a ME of at least 1700 FPE) to be used for vermin.

One option might be to fit a barrel insert (einstecklauf) in the smoothbore barrel of a standard combination gun, but the ones I've looked at (K&S, Keppeler) are expensive, and the only combination gun I've come across that offers rimfire chamberings is the Savage 24, which I imagine they were never designed to fit!

A year or so ago, however, I saw an interesting combination gun manufactured by a German company called Steinkamp.

Configured as a bull-pup, with superposed barrels and a rubber overmolded or laminate stock, it was available custom-built in a wide range of calibres.