New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lion by A. Baldry
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted

This is a Lion I was commission to paint some years ago, when I was an active wildlife artist. Most of my paintings and sketches were the study of this animal from life. Similar images decorate the pages of safari hunting brochures and the hunter is sold this image, nothing less. This is a Lion.

If we page through all the scientific research the conclusion is the Lion to take is now too old to defend a pride? Surely we can agree on this? This Lion is on a downward spiral and the shooting of him will not effect the social order of the pride. This is the Lion illustrated above.

The fuck up is that these Lions are few and far between and the demand for such animals far exceeds the population, hence lesser and younger Lions are taken to warrant quotas and to inflate success rates.

Forget scientific jargon and simply offer the consumer the opportunity to take a Lion, as illustrated above. If an operator cannot do this then the consumer should be adequately compensated and the opportunity can be sold again. This is conservation.

Example: I have a private Kafue area which will be ready for hunting next year. The wildlife authority have given me one Lion on quota as the adjacent community have persistent problems with Lion, however I am unsure of the quality or age of these problem Lions. If the Kafue is anything to go by and the fact we are adjacent to the KNP then I am fairly confident and let us say 40-50% that the area will produce a big old 6 year plus Lion. But I am not going to extend that flimsy statistic to my consumer as I am not prepared to gamble with his money. To protect my Lion and the client I intend to offer a fair daily rate and a high trophy fee only to be paid on success. I do not need the likes of Packer to tell me what is right or wrong, the Lion the hunter seeks is the picture that I have painted.

ROYAL KAFUE LTD
Email - kafueroyal@gmail.com
Tel/Whatsapp (00260) 975315144