THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM MEDIUM BORE RIFLE FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Medium Bore Rifles    .300 Weatherby hunting-experiences ?

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.300 Weatherby hunting-experiences ?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of ovny
posted
I as you know I have a Vanguard in 300 Weatherby Magnum, and as I've seen that a partner has a thread to tell us your experiences with the 300 RUM cartridge I have been encouraged to open a similar thread but with the 300 Weatherby Magnum. So I appreciate all the experiences that you might share with me and with others.

Thanks,

Oscar

I am Spanish

My forum:www.armaslargasdecaza.com

Posts: 1131 | Location: Spain (Madrid) | Registered: 11 June 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Crazyhorseconsulting
posted Hide Post
I have been using one for about 15 years or so, a MarkV Deluxe for white tail deer/feral hog/elk and pronghorn. Just put a new 3x9 Leupold scope on it and getting it ready for a Coues deer hunt in Arizona if I get drawn.

I like the 300 Weatherby.

Even the rocks don't last forever.

Posts: 31014 | Location: Olney, Texas | Registered: 27 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of adamhunter
posted Hide Post
I have an interesting story about 300 Wthbys. My father bought a 300 Wthby Mark V Fibermark some years ago. I was extremely jealous and wanted one as well, but couldnt afford it at the time. So I bought a Vanguard instead. After a few sessions at the range Dad discovered he did not like the rough texture of the Mark V's composite stock. He offered to trade my wood stocked Vanguard for his Fibermark. I took the deal, but have found I don't care for the composite stock either. I did get the last laugh as I used it to kill my best whitetail to date; an 11pt.