New
Find
Notify
Tools

.280 AI ...too much velocity??
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I had a 26" Douglas barreled .280 Rem in a Rem 700, recently rechambered to the AI forty degree case. This gun always seemed to have a fairly "fast" barrel , though the fact that it was a twenty six incher probably helped too.

Anyway.....With 150 Swift Scirrocos and 61.0 grains of Reloader 19 I'm getting close to 3200 fps! That seems a bit TOO fast to me. With the same bullet and a lighter charge of R19 in the standard .280 chambering I always got high 2900+ figures with the ocasional 3000 fps average when I used WLR primers. Cases lasted several loadings and gre only a negligible amount from firing to firing.

I'm new to the Ackley cartridges so anyone else have a similar experience??

I've always done well with IMR4831, and Reloader 19 in the std .280 and my preffered 150 grain bullets. Anyone else using anything else with good results??

FN in MT

Posts: 950 | Location: Cascade, Montana USA | Registered: 11 June 2000Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Frank,

With a bonded-core bullet, there's no such thing as TOO FAST!

Enjoy the performance. Go out and kill something with it [Wink]

George

Posts: 14623 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 22 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hey Frank, You planning on poking a hole or two in those Elk you hunt with this one?

Concerning the Velocity, I understand your question as to mean - "Hey, what's the Pressure doing?" (I agree that the Velocity tells you nothing about what the Pressure is doing.)

Well, that is an excellent question. Back when I messed with Wildcats, I used Case Head Expansion(CHE) and Pressure Ring Expansion(PRE) as methods to let me know when to STOP dumping in Powder. And, I still use them irregardless of the cartridge.