Notify
Tools

Another boot question
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted
Im looking for a high quality ultra light boot

Non insulated that will be used for spot and stalk deer and elk in the Rocky Mountains

I have several pairs of boots from Danner Pronghorns to Irish Setter Elk Trekers

I'm currently looking at Lowa Camino GTX but haven't ruled out Mendle

Thoughts?

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with your listed boots. I 've been using Kenetrek windtex boots that weigh 2.6 pounds each for the last 10 seasons.They are made in Italy and cost about $400 & I own 2 pair.My hunting and fishing requires a backpack and these boots are stiff enough to keep my ankles from twisting and can be resoled.

Posts: 370 | Location: northcentral mt | Registered: 25 May 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
No longer made though......

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ted, Currently I am wearing a pair of light hiking boots from kenetrek. These are one of their new models. They are very comfortable as I've been hiking up and down the hills on my farm; preparing for a Kamchatka bighorn hunt in August. I'm going to try these boots out on this hunt as they are lighter and more comfortable (to me) than their other mountain boots.

Best of Hunting,
Mark Hampton
P.S. I live in Texas County MO.

Posts: 126 | Location: Missouri | Registered: 27 August 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Mark, be sure to let us know how the new kenetreks work out for you. I'm thinking of switching brands. Just too much discomfort in my heels that cause blisters in my 400 gram set. On the other hand, my 1000 grams fit like a dream. And let us know how you make out with the sheep!

Posts: 295 | Location: Sk, Canada | Registered: 06 September 2012Reply With Quote