THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM HANDGUN HUNTING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Handgun Hunting    Meplat size % of bullet diameter
Page 1 2 

Moderators: MS Hitman
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Meplat size % of bullet diameter
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Cold Trigger Finger
posted
It may take me a few attempts to get this worded correctly so please bear with me.
Ever since I started learning about the heavy game killing benefits of a great big flat nose on hard cast handgun bullets. I have wondered why not just make the front of the bullet say 15 thousands smaller than bullet diameter and go hunting.
If the flat nose is what makes the hole in the animal , the S.D. and velocity carry the hole maker through the animal. And the hardness/toughness keep the bullet in its shape to maintain straight penetration.
Then , What role does caliber play , in how much (hole diameter making), shock transferance/hard hitting , ability ? Assuming the rifling twist is fsst enough to stabilize the bullet.
Say a 340 gr 430, 452 & 475 bullets all have the same or very close meplat diameter and all are pushed at 1200 fps. Wont all 3 ("kill") Exactly alike ????
What am I missing here ?
Thanks
Glen.

Phil Shoemaker : "I went to a .30-06 on a fine old Mauser action. That worked successfully for a few years until a wounded, vindictive brown bear taught me that precise bullet placement is not always possible in thick alders, at spitting distances and when time is measured in split seconds. Lucky to come out of that lesson alive, I decided to look for a more suitable rifle."

Posts: 1934 | Location: Eastern Central Alaska | Registered: 15 July 2014Reply With Quote
Picture of Whitworth
posted Hide Post