New
Find
Notify
Tools

7MM Dakota
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Does anyone here have any experience with this round. I was thinking it would be a great middle ground between 7mm regular mag and the 7mm RUM or STW. I know brass and dies must be an arm and a leg to get ahold of. But it has alot of potential no? beltless case design and all that.
Any info would be appreciated.

mark

Posts: 968 | Location: British Columbia | Registered: 29 May 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Zero Drift
posted Hide Post
Markus - I have been shooting the 7mm Dakota for over 8 years. In my opinion the cartridge is a perfect balance between improved performance over the RemMag, yet not as inefficient as the ultra mag. I get an honest 3200 fps with a 160gr Nosler Partition Gold with 74.5gr of RL-22 or 76gr of H-4831sc. This offers a little better performance over the STW or Weatherby.

Brass is expensive at a $1 per case, however, with neck only sizing and annealing after 5 reloads, my brass has lasted a very long time.

[ 10-29-2002, 17:43: Message edited by: Zero Drift ]

Posts: 10780 | Location: Test Tube | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks alot zero drift. I was wondering something actually is the dakota also based on the jefferys case?

I have a 300RUM but the case length is so long wouldn't mind it if it was a 300 dakota. From what I understand the dakota is a jeffery's case but with a larger head size. Couldn't a guy run a 300RUM case into a 300 dakota full length sizer to push the shoulder back down. and then trim the extra off the neck to effectively make a 300 dakota wild cat? It would be a wild cat because it has a different head size. But the case volume would be identical to a 300 dakota.

Is it possible?

Posts: 968 | Location: British Columbia | Registered: 29 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post