New
Find
Notify
Tools

WC 867 vs. WC 872
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I recently obtained a quantity of WC-867 surplus powder, but haven't loaded any of it. I have some bit of experience with WC 872, however. Has anyone made a direct comparison of these two powders to give me an idea of their burn rates relative to one another?

Posts: 13245 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
A slow .50 BMG and 20mm powder. It will work well in the belted magnums with a heavy bullet.
A long barrel will provide the best velocities and less unburnt powder in the bore.
I doubt you'd have much luck in the .223-30-06 class rifles as you would have to use a very heavy bullet which is going to reduce case capacity.
Some say the powder is close to H870. I have no idea if this is true or not.
I'd try a tight crimp and a magnum primer to see if it may work in the "regular
" calibers most folks shoot.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 448 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Rapidrob:

Some say the powder is close to H870.

WC-872 is significantly slower than H870, at least in the lots I've worked with. What I was wondering is if WC-867 is, say, 90% or 110%, as fast as WC-872, or if it differs more than this and if so, in which direction?

Posts: 13245 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of richj
posted Hide Post
from Wideners:

Use loading data for AA8700, work loads up accordingly.