New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: 7mm-08
 Login/Join

posted
Never been able to leave things alone.

Guess that is why I fix teeth for a living.

It always meant more to load my own when I used to trophy hunt.

This is just a time factor and the old graph died years ago.

Who would have thought that Salvage would have screwed up a plastic stock??? Probably just the fact that it is a left handed model.

All aside the Remington load is probably good for an 11 year old boy. I just need the velocity of a Remington 140 gr bullet shot from a 22 inch barrel to get a guess at the velocity for a graph for him though I am sure 2 inches high at a hundred will kill anything he can hit.

He had two shots last year with my old 270 in an old custom bedded stock that I cut down for him. I switched him to left handed to go with the left eye dominance. On the South Texas P and WL youth hunt he got his deer with a perfect shot at 135 and shot his hog in the head at 180 yards. Right handed he could not hit the hog at 18 yards.

He looked like he was standing on his head to get the left eye over to see with a right side mount.

Hope someone can help me with the velocity.

Thanks,

Jim

one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
I agree with savage99 I`d leave the loads alone and use as loaded by the factory. The Nosler BT, Partition, Sierra GK and others can be found and you`ll know pressures haven`t changed with the new bullet.
I`ve crono`ed a couple of factory rounds in two 20" barreled rifles and found a Remington 140 gr factory load with a Nosler BT gave 2634 fps @15*F from one and 2690 fps @ 80+* F in the other. The Fed Premium loaded with a TB140 in their Hi Energy loads gave ~2750 fps at 85*F.