THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    .308 Win using Lapua .308 win brass which primer

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.308 Win using Lapua .308 win brass which primer
 Login/Join

posted
I have purchased a new rifle and am waiting it's arrival.

I'm planning on using 165 gr. Nosler accubond in Laupua brass. I'm going to start with RL15 for powder.

I've never worked with Lapua brass before.

Anyone have experience with Lapua brass, if so which primers do you prefer?

Thanks,
Adams

One of Us
Picture of Rapidrob
posted Hide Post
Lapua brass is first rate. Long case life if loads kept at normal working pressures.
I only shoot long distance. Nothing closer than 200 yards,most 500 yards and farther.
I like Winchester Primers. Remington then CCI.
Reloader-15 is my long distance powder. For decades I used IMR-4895 but found I could squeak out better groups at 800 yards using RL-15.
My load is used in the M1A, FAL's,Converted M-1 Garands,Mausers and 2A1 Enfields. All love this powder with bullets 150-175 grain.
I do crimp.

Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club
NRA Endowment Member
President NM MILSURPS

Posts: 448 | Location: Albuquerque | Registered: 28 March 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
If your going through the trouble of using expensive brass.
You might as well go the whole nine yards
Federal LR gold medal match Primers or if you can't find them Winchester
LR primers.
Powder, For a .308, Varget. For pure accuracy nothing else is in its league.

Now, if your not shooting 1000 yard competition, save yourself some money
and get some Hornady match brass.

With the twist rates companies are using, the greatest accuracy will be
with bullets in the 175-200 grain weight.

Specifically the 175-180 grain is the gold standard.