Find
Notify
Tools

Magtech Primers / AR Powders
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of AI22-250
posted
With primers in such short supply, at least in my neck of the woods, One gun shop in town carries "Magtech". They had a good supply. I've never used them before and wondered if anyone had problems with them?

I picked up 1000 of them to try, in my new AR "Rock Rivers - Predator/Persuit. I found that they seemed to "seat" much easier than other primers I've used, (most brands). Has anyone had them back out....
I've also heard that they are harder (rumors) than say CCI, any truth, and is that a bad thing in an AR?

I guess while I'm at it.... I've reloaded for nearly 40yrs now, but never loaded for the AR, I've read just about every reloading manual I can find, there seems to be an abundance of powder that you can use. H335 - 748 and similar for bullets up to 55grs and Varget etc. for the 60gr and up.... Although mixed accuracy resluts from Varget..... Am I close? (rifle is 1:8 twist, 20" heavy barrel)

Any help would be appreciated, Thanks

Posts: 289 | Location: Holladay,UT (SLC) | Registered: 01 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've used magtech primers and they work fine. A harder primer cup is a plus, this avoids slam fires in an AR. I like Sierra's Reloading Data, because they have specific data for the AR. The load has to be hot enough to cycle the bolt. The powders you named are fine, but 748 can be a little dirty if it is not loaded hot in my experience. You can get some really good in depth info at AR15.com forum. Go to armory forum, scroll down to misc. then click on reloading. Hope this helps.

If you need some good used brass, I have had very go luck with Scharch.com (topbrass) they have once fired .223 brass that has had the crimp removed from primer, cleaned, full length sized and trimmed. You can also order it already primed, this is one way to get primers and not pay hazmat shipping.