New
Find
Notify
Tools

Load Density and Standard Deviation
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have tried talking about super accurate reloads on other sites, and the discussions always turn into a shouting match. Hoping that AR forums will come through again and actually teach me something.

First of all my loading techniques are not advanced at this point in time. I have been reloading for several years and am looking to go to a new level. I use a Redding turret press and an RCBS chargemaster. Mainly Redding dies, but have used all brands. At this point I do not neck turn, i don't sort brass and bullets by weight or anything. Very basic indeed. Pretty much follow the manuals.

Now I have made some very accurate reloads, but I am wondering if it was luck? I shoot an AR-15 in highpower competition, and have made some 600 yard reloads that have cleaned the target. But now I have the bug for 1000 yard shooting, and realize that ammunition consistency is a very integral part of the game.

I am wondering how big a part of consistent reloads load density is? In one of my hunting rifles, a .257 Roberts short action model 700, I am getting about 1 MOA at 100 yards, not bad, but I would like to squeak out a little more. I am using IMR 4350, and my load density is not near 100% right now. Might this low load density be a limiting factor right now?