Find
Notify
Tools

45/70 Brass ????
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of MADDOG
posted
I am on the 10th reloads for a batch of 45/70. Is this un usual? They all seam fine primers seat well and firm. The loads are all kinda medium. What can I shoot for from these? 20 Reloads? Maddog

Joshua 24:15
www.teamfaithfull.net /
My granddaughter
"Multitudes loose the sight of that which is, by setting their eyes on that which is not".

Posts: 1899 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 03 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
i have some brass i have been reloading since 1980,it depends on how hard you push them.Good Luck

Posts: 1371 | Location: Plains,TEXAS | Registered: 14 January 2008Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
i got some used brass when i got my 45/70, don't know how many times it has been reloaded before, but i've reloaded them about 6-7 times since. i dicard any that look unusual around the base or have split necks. they should keep going for awhile yet. i have been using medium and light loads.

Posts: 76 | Location: British Columbia | Registered: 17 January 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Bought my first box of 45-70 brass in 1972. They have been reloaded between 20 and 30 times. During that time the primer pockets have gotten a bit loose from so many primers being seated. Along the way 4 of the cases have died due to body splits about half way between the head and case mouth.

Posts: 13978 | Location: http://www.tarawaontheweb.org/tarawa2.jpg | Registered: 03 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
have never read this and its just one mans opinion. But 45/70 , being a stait wlled case and a fairly low preasure round in the 1st place, it should last longer than a case with a shoulder.
The only thing I try to do to my 45/70 brass is to only open the case mouth as much as I need to,before seating,
when you open the mouth and then crimp,it over and over, you might create a weak spot over time.