Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.223 loading question
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading and have a fairly basic question. I've developed the following load that shoots right at 1 MOA consistantly. I'd like to tighten this up a little. The load was developed in .5 grn increments. All the brass was once-fired, neck sized, trimmed, chamfered, and de-burred.

Win. brass
26 grs. WW748
Federal Small rifle primers
52 grn Speer TNT's
.015" off the lands

What should I mess with first, bullet seating depth or powder in .1 grn increments? Or, is there something else you would do first?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 17 | Location: SLC, UT | Registered: 03 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by SH00T TO K1LL:
What should I mess with first, bullet seating depth or powder in .1 grn increments? Or, is there something else you would do first?

I'd start with the bullet choice myself. Speers are OK, but not usually the first pick for accuracy. They are great bullets for shooting groundhogs, prairie dogs, etc though.

I'd try a Sierra MatchKing (53 gr flat base) or a Nosler Ballistic Tip (55 or 50 gr). Both offer outstanding accuracy, and the BT works super on small varmints as well.

Your other choices of components sond good. Win 748 is a great powder, and you may also want to try Varget, H322, H335, and some others. Win brass is a lot of people's first choice.

223s are notoriously easy to load for, so if you aren't getting the accuracy you want, change until you do.

Good luck!

one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post