Find
Notify
Tools

Noob question?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of GrosVentreGeorge
posted
Okay I am just getting into reloading. Do I have to worry about the brand of dies I use? Do I need to stick to one brand or can I interchange RCBS, Redding, Hornady, and Lee?

The current press I am using is a friends rockchucker until I can buy a press and starter kit of my own. Currently I am leaning towards a Hornady kit.

"I would rather have a German division in front of me than a French one behind me." -- General George S. Patton

Posts: 427 | Location: The Big Sky aka Dodson, MT | Registered: 22 May 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I use RCBS and Redding dies.
The first thing to do is read all you can about reloading, then make your decision about what dies to buy.
I would recommend the RCBS kit that is sold after your studies are complete.

Don

one of us
posted Hide Post
I use lee 4 die carbide dies for pistol and rcbs for rifle.

*We Band of .338 ers*.NRA Member

Posts: 415 | Location: Milwaukee WI USA | Registered: 07 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of miles58
posted Hide Post
George,

Those of us who've been doing this a long time know two things:

1. Reloading is cheaper than buying factory ammo and usually more accurate.

2. Reloading can be an expensive way to obtain ammunition.

Once you start, it's a process and a means to an end. The dies you buy and the press you buy won't matter in the end. You'll lust after something else sooner or later anyway. Most presses use standard 7/8-14 dies but you can find odd stuff Stay away from the odd stuff. At leastr in the beginning. A good plan might be to start with a used press like an RCBS junior and put all the money you save into the things that make a difference right off the bat. Like a good scale. Like a good measure. Like a good calipers. Like a stoney point gage.

Posts: 961 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 25 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of miles58