Find
Notify
Tools

Full, partial, or neck size on a bolt action
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of NEJack
posted
Had an interesting discussion at the range today. There were a couple guys talking about which is best for a typical bolt action rifle, neck, full, or partial sizing.

Since I am fairly new to reloading, I mainly just listened and tried to soak up some knowledge. The bench reste guy was saying that the neck size method worked best, but that he didn't think it would help a typical hunting rifle that much. The others were pretty much split between neck and partial sizing.

So, what is your opinion? Which gives the most consistent results?

Posts: 727 | Location: Eastern Iowa (NUTS!) | Registered: 29 March 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
For all of my bolt guns I neck size. Brass life ends up being excellent.

Pump and lever are full length sized.

Posts: 106 | Location: Oz..... | Registered: 05 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Full lengh sizing(backing up shoulder beetween .003"-.006" ,P-FLR backing up shoulder .001"-.003",Partial sizing not working the shoulder,neck sizing using P-LFLR or FLR or using body to back up shoulder(.002").The best way is" up to you"(standard chamber,hunting rifle),the only way to know is to try them and see for yourself.An interesting method is using body die with a collet die ..for "neck sizing"...

Posts: 439 | Location: Quebec Canada | Registered: 27 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
I would suggest you read the following:

golf balls at 700 yards with a bipod and hard hold

and his loading technique:

Froggy's loading technique

Here's what I can tell you. I experimented with 4 different loads I have for 4 different rifles. When I resized the brass, I did NOT use the expander (Redding dies), per Froggy's suggestion. In EVERY case, all groups were tighter and I was certainly amazed.