Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

30-06 Load
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to reloading. A friend of mine has been doing it for years and told me to pick it up. I have bought some IMR 4350 and 165gr Sierra Game king bullets (BT). I was wondering if anyone has loaded a similar load and if so how many grs work the best for you.

Thanks,
Bill

one of us
posted Hide Post
Do a test series in half-grain increments because that's the best way. Start 5 to 7&1/2% low and work your way up. If they are Sierra bullets, you can call their hotline and get a recommended load, and it'll usually be very close. Your rifle will probably not shoot another's favorite load without some experimentation, anyway. These components are a great starting place. You could try WW760 or H414 with magnum primers, too. Geo.

Posts: 305 | Location: Indian Territory | Registered: 21 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of todbartell
posted Hide Post
You will probably find the 165 gr. will work best around 56-58 grains of IMR 4350, for 2700-2850 in a 22" barrel.

I've loaded 165 gr. in my m70 30-06 22"...

165 gr. Hornady Intebond @ 3.27" Overall Length
57.0 grs. Hodgdon h4350
R-P nickel case
WLR primer
~
2806 fps avg.

Good accuracy. I would expect IMR 4350 to create similar results, but reduce this load to 55 grains and work up slow.

Posts: 857 | Location: BC, Canada | Registered: 03 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Lar45
posted Hide Post