Find
Notify
Tools

.243 win brass
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of z1r
posted
I am in the process of completing two rifles in this caliber. One a heavy barreled varminter for me the other a light weight sporter for the wife. I've been buying factory loads for the last 6 years or so due to time constraints. I want to start reloading again for this cartirdge and wondered which brass most people are using these days. I've always had equal luck with Rem or Win in the past. And the only time I favored one over the other was in .45-70, the Win brass had more capacity for BP loads.

Thanks,
Mike

Posts: 4864 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 07 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of John Y Cannuck
posted Hide Post
I don't load 243, but in other calibers, I prefer Winchester To Remington brass. Norma even better, if you can find it.

Posts: 872 | Location: Lindsay Ontario Canada | Registered: 14 April 2001Reply With Quote
<Johnp>
posted
I've used all different manufacturers for loading this caliber with equal success and performance. I have also necked down a large number of .308 cases to .243. Even used mini-gun brass, just trimmed and reamed. I use the .243 on prarie dogs and it works well with most any brass.

<MNTNMAN>
posted
I use winchester brass in any caliber only. It just seems to hold up better for me. In the 243 my dad only uses norma, but winchester in any other cal. take it for what you will, but I haven't seen any difference in the norma and win. 243 brass. I will say to stay away from remington brass in any caliber as john said there eh.

<green 788>
posted
I did try Norma brass in my .243, and found that the inside of the case necks had a tendency to form "donut" rings after only two or three loadings. I've had excellent luck with Norma and Lapua cases in other chamberings. The .243 Norma brass is my only bad experience with Norma cases.