New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet seating?
 Login/Join

<Nimrod>
posted
I'm new to reloading. If I resize a case and seat a bullet long in the case, can I then chamber it to find the rifling and then seat the bullet .003-.005 shorter?

The gun is a Rem 700bdl SS in 7mmRM.

<George Capriola>
posted
Nimrod,
I suppose that's one way to do it.
Another way is to use a Stoney Point bullet comparator, which you can get from Sinclair International ( www.sinclairintl.com ).
You can use culled cases, and seat bullets for use as dummies, and use them to set up your seating dies.
I use culled cases, for each caliber I reload. I size the case and decap it, then slit the neck with a grinding disc in a Dremel tool. I can insert a bullet, with some drag on it. Then I chamber the bullet, and measure it with a Sinclair bullet comparator. I'll take 3-4 measurements, and write down the maximum C.O.L. With the primer removed, I can push out the bullet with a pin punch. I determine maximum C.O.L. for every different bullet I'm loading. I store the cases in the die boxes for each caliber.
Regards, George.

one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Nimrod:
I'm new to reloading. If I resize a case and seat a bullet long in the case, can I then chamber it to find the rifling and then seat the bullet .003-.005 shorter?

The gun is a Rem 700bdl SS in 7mmRM.

A sized case may have enough pressure to allow the bullet to "jam" into the lands, not just "kiss 'em." George's recommendation will result in a more accurate measurement and consistent seating.

I use a Sinclair OAL tool to make my measurements. I set the bullet just against the lands by using the Sinclair rod against the base and a cleaning rod through the barrel at the tip of the bullet. This way I can move it back and forth, on and off the lands. (kind of like a cob of corn with a pair of those silly little prong holders!) I can now set it quite gently in place and take my measurement.