Find
Notify
Tools

Case neck turning - advice
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of 500nitro
posted
Although I've been reloading for nearly 30 years, I have never gone to the lengths of turning case necks.
I am workiing with this concept now and have a question.
Is it better to turn the necks after resizing the case, or after firing it. And why?
The mandrill supplied will not fit into the resized case, but I can turn it down if neccesary.

Posts: 1069 | Location: Durban,KZN, South Africa | Registered: 16 January 2001Reply With Quote
<Don Martin29>
posted
Turning after sizing makes sense to me but as you found out the mandrels are made to fit fired cases at least with Forester.

I would do it as then you can turn new brass also and just size a neck first that you wanted to turn. Just clean them up and don't take too much off.

one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post
First of all, turning necks in anything short of a tight necked competition chamber is usually unnecessary and counterproductive to accuracy. I believe "the man" on this site has done it and posted negative results. Those results tally with my experience and most others who've tried it. If the neck walls of the brass are uniform to within .0015" there is usually no need to turn. If they are not, buy better brass. It's usually cheaper, better, and not as much work.