Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to reloading
 Login/Join

posted
Quick question. I'm new to reloading. I have a 7mm rem mag with dies and brass. My question is, should I start off with something other than a belted magnum or is it as good a round as any to start.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Since you have the brass and dies it is probably where you should start though I've found the 7 mag to be a bit quirky. I think that there is a good bit of bore diameter variation in 7mm's that account for it's quirkyness.
Specifically I've loaded for 3 different 7 Rem Mags and the max loads were several grains apart in the different rifles. There is also a good bit of variation in the Data from manual to manual. I think the best advice I can give you is to start slowly using the lowest powder charge listed in your manual.
It is a fine round and you can probably save a lot of money by reloading for it. You'll also probably get better accuracy too. Good Luck...............DJ

....Remember that this is all supposed to be for fun!..................

Posts: 3976 | Location: Oklahoma,USA | Registered: 27 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
lg,

I'm with dj 100%. I've had more "quirkiness" in 7mm Mag. than any other cartridge I've reloaded for except the .22 Hornet. Loading manuals vary widely in charges and I'd also recommend starting low and working your way up slowly. I've a 7mm that gives all the commonly referred to "High Pressure" signs with loads well under maximum, and that with several different bullets.

As you set the Dies up for your cartidge & chamber, use a candle to soot the case necks (just hold the neck slightly off the flame for a couple of seconds and rotate until the case neck is black) and adjust the dies so the case is resized to the base of the neck/shoulder junction, you'll be able to see this easily. Before proceeding ensure this "sized" case fits in the chamber of your rifle.