New
Find
Notify
Tools

Scales
 Login/Join

posted
Hello everyone,
I'm just getting into reloading and the only thing I do not have are scales and a powder measure. I have a set of dippers for the meantime but would like to get scales. I'm starting with 45 colt and 454 casull. I will aslo want to load for 357 and 38 as well as 44 special and 44 magnum.
I really want a balance beam scale I think either a RCBS 10 10 or the Redding master scale.
I would greatly appreciate any comments on these two scales.

one of us
posted Hide Post
For handgun cartridges I'd reccomend a cheap Lee balance - it's still accurate and you'll be able to easily figure-out which dipper to use. Once you know just load with the dipper.

If you were loading for rifle cartridges I'd recommend weighing every charge which is easy using the dippers with an electronic balance - Pact makes a good cheap one. Find the dipper just below the charge and trickle up. Very fast and accurate.

DT

Posts: 196 | Location: NC | Registered: 21 June 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
Any of the balance beam scales will do fine as there's really not a dimes worth of difference between them. I have an old RCBS 5-0-5 scale that I bought in 1981 and it's the only one I use. I bought a set of check weights 20 years ago and have never had to do anything with the scales at all. I use my scales for setting my powder measures and for working up small test batches of ammunition.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12603 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post