New
Find
Notify
Tools

Neck Die Bushings
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been relaoding for many years, but I am steping up my game a little.

I have aquired Redding competition dies for three calibers. .260rem, 6mm ack imp, and .284 win. The 6mm has a .266 neck.

So, my question is, is there a formula for determining the prober bushing size to start with?

Thanks for the help,

Chris

Posts: 497 | Location: Edgewood, Texas | Registered: 31 July 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Bullet dia + (2x neck thickness) - .002 will get you close.

Alt, seat a bullet, measure the neck diameter, get bushing that's .002 smaller than that.

That should get you started/close. You may want to also pick up bushings that are .003 and .004 smaller, so you'll be better able to tune the neck tension.

Posts: 2124 | Location: Whittemore, MI, USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
So, my question is, is there a formula for determining the prober bushing size to start with?

Sort of as tailgunner shows BUT

Cases vary in thickness within a given manufacturer's lot and from lot to lot over time. Cases vary even more from brand to brand. If for some reason you decide to turn the necks you may need a different bushing.

For example - for 6mm Remington cases
Remington brand necks are thick and tapered so much they do not work well with the Lee collet neck die.
The Winchester brand cases are thinner but do not have the taper that you will find in the Remingtons.
As a result you may need 2 or 3 bushings for some rounds.

On another point - you might like the Redding neck bushing die for the .308 winchester.
Its ID is large enough and it is short enough to be used to for about 30 different rounds.

It will work for .30-30 length rounds up as long as the case will fit inside the die. It appears this die will work for rounds up to .338 caliber.