New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ramshot Powders
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been using Ramshot TAC in both the 204 and the 223 for the past several months and have been very happy it in both cartridges. I bought 23 pounds of the stuff when it was on sale from Midway for $9.99/lb. I originally bought it for use in my ARs figuring that I didn't need it to be super accurate anyway. As it turns out, it is almost as good as my favorite loads in both the 223 and the 204. My favorite powder in the 223 was H-335 with BLC-2 a close second. BLC-2 was my favorite for the 204. All 3 powders are very similar in both look and characteristics as far as I can tell.
I have just started reoloading for the 22-250 recently and I also reload for the 220 Swift. I notice that TAC can be used in the 22-250 and I will probably try some soon. I also notice that BIG Game is listed for both the 220 Swift and the 22-250. Hunter is also listed for use in the 220 as well as the 25-06 which I also reload for. So, my questions is do any of you have any experience with any of these in the calibers mentioned. Also, are these ball type or extruded powders. Has anyone had any experience with Xterminator in the 204 and the 223. All of these powders seem to be quite a bit cheaper than others out there so if they are decent I would like to get some before they go up as well. If you haven't tried TAC take my word for it and try some. Cool

"Get yourself a Glock and get ridof that nickle plated sissy pistol."

Posts: 28 | Location: Maine | Registered: 10 January 2008Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I'm experimenting with Hunter in a .280 Rem and a .338 Win Mag--sort of a H4350 to R19 burner. The powder is ball type, seems very clean burning, and has not disappointed in the velocity department. Sorry I can't help you with your specific cartridges, but so far I've liked the powder and as you have noticed, the price is fair. I believe the Ramshot powders are touted as being fairly temperature stable as well.