Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Powder Measures which one?
 Login/Join

posted
I am in the market for a new powder measure. I deceided on Redding match Grade model 3BR OR the Harrel Custom 90 OR Harrell Premium Culver Measure. Besides the cost which I already realize. I would like some input on the better preformer. I usely reload rifles, using mostly IMR 4350 or H-4831. Sometimes I use a finer powder but not often.
Thank you for any first hand knowlege,
Big Bear

one of us
posted Hide Post
Bear,

I've no experience with those, only Belding & Mull and RCBS.

I will say I've gone to only short-grain and spherical powders as there is ample selection in them and they meter so much better.

Each time I use a different powder in the measure I check to see how much one rotation changes weight and post it on a list above the bench.

That makes future adjustments a piece of cake.

Posts: 612 | Location: Atlanta, GA USA | Registered: 19 June 2000Reply With Quote
<Martindog>
posted
A Lee Perfect Powder Measure will perform equally well as those three, if not better on stick powders, and save you anywhere from $100 - 150. No measure works really well on stick powders. Expect +/- .2g variation with any of them. I'd also recommend you use H-4831 Short Cut. It meters better.

Martindog

<Dan in Wa>
posted
Like said before, stick powders really don't measure that well. That said I really like my Redding measure over the RCBS unit. In my experience Hodgdon powders meter better than IMR and Ball powders are the best of all.

posted Hide Post
I use the Harrel 90 and find it throws very consistent loads with both stick and ball type powders, I have no experience with Redding.

Posts: 13 | Location: ct. usa | Registered: 13 November 2002Reply With Quote
<brandx>
posted