THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Question on Cast Bullet Movement in Case Under Recoil

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question on Cast Bullet Movement in Case Under Recoil
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm not new to reloading but I am relatively new to loading for 44 Magnum revolvers. If any of you handgun reloaders could give me a sanity check on this issue, I would greatly appreciate it.

I'm loading 255 grain Cast Performance WFNPBs fueled by 10 grains of Unique. I'm experimenting with how much crimp to apply. So, I crimped 6 rounds with 1/2 a full revolution of the crimping die after the bullets were all seated. (I'm using the two step process seating all of them first, then crimping all of them). Next, I crimped 6 more rounds with 3/4 of a turn of the crimping die and lastly, 6 more rounds with one full turn of the crimping die.

I marked two rounds in each batch so I could identify them to measure their OAL both before firing and after firing the fourth and fifth rounds in the cylinder to see if the remaining bullets are moving forward in their cases. Here's what I found:

1/2 turn of the crimping die-I forgot to measure round number 5 but round number six had moved forward .003

3/4 turn of the crimping die-round five had moved .002 and round six had moved .004

Full turn of crimping die-round five moved forward .002 and round six moved forward .005

As a comparison, I did the same thing with two different types of cast factory loads. I marked two rounds each for measurement:

Federal 300 grain castcore-round five did not move at all and neither did round 6

Buffalo Bore 255 Grain Keiths-round five did not move but round six moved .005