Find
Notify
Tools

How good are Hornady dies???
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Howdy,

Well, I'm no amateur. I've been doing this for 40 years+, and turned out some super ammunition. I've solved all kinds of problems, but this one has me buffaloed. I can't get anything better than .007 to .009 inch neck runout with Hornady New Dimension dies, that came HIGHLY recommended. The problem is that the spindle inside is held in place by a collet, and I can't for the life of me get it straight and tight. If I get it straight, when I go to tighten it it moves and it sure is frustrating. Anybody got any suggestions as to how to set these rascals up for the least neck runout???

Thanks,

Coach

Posts: 114 | Location: near Abilene, Texas | Registered: 04 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Howdy again,

A little update, by taking the expander ball completely off the spindle and just neck sizing (outside only) I have found the problem. The best I could do without the expanding ball installed was .009. That tells me that the neck is machined off center. The press is a Forster/Bonanza with the standard jaw shell holder that has produced .000 on lots of other dies, so I know thats not the problem. Anybody got suggestions.

Coach

Posts: 114 | Location: near Abilene, Texas | Registered: 04 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I would talk to Hornaday and I think they would replace the sizing die for you . I have a number of their die sets , and all have produced accurate ammo for me ...

Posts: 1660 | Location: Gary , SD | Registered: 05 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of R-WEST
posted Hide Post
Personally, I'd throw the sizing die in the garbage can and get a new one from Redding or RCBS. That stupid collet on the decapping pin drives me nuts [Frown] Their seating die isn't too bad.

R-WEST

Posts: 1483 | Location: Windber, PA | Registered: 24 January 2001Reply With Quote
<Don Martin29>
posted