New
Find
Notify
Tools

What am I doing WRONG!
 Login/Join

<SNOW>
posted
I've decided to get into a 22 Cheetah MK1. I have a set of Redding dies marked 22 Cheetah 40 Degree NK and my seating die. I was thinking I simply run a 243 Win through the neck die and fireform. Well, I raised the ram arm on my Rock Chucker all the way and screwed the die down until it hit the shell holder. After I ran my first 243 through, I quickly realized I just ruined it. The shoulder and neck were crushed!
I'm kind of new to reloading as you can tell but thought I had enough exper to form my brass! I loaded a couple of hundred rounds of 260 REM and 300 WIN but no wildcats.

HELP!

one of us
posted Hide Post
Could it be a NK Neck sizing die instead of 40 degree neck. Dr. Howell's book shows that cartridge with a 40 degree 40minute neck. I would look into an RCBS or Redding forming die. Dr. Howell's book mentions RCBS. All the Redding dies I have say FL for full length and NK for neck sizing die.

Hope this helps!

Mike

------------------
Victory through superior firepower!

[This message has been edited by ready_on_the_right (edited 08-28-2001).]

Posts: 324 | Location: GA, USA | Registered: 20 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post