New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lee quick primer and Federal primers?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
SmilerAccording to Lee I have been guilty of a great sin when putting Federal primers in my Lee quick primer. I was looking in a new Lee reloader book and they say in BIG LETTERS "NEVER PUT FEDERAL PRIMERS IN A LEE QUICK PRIMER LOADER!!.I have used a lee quick primer for years and have always used mostly Federal primers in it Anyone ever have any problem with this combo? Does Lee have something against Fedral primers?

Posts: 671 | Location: none | Registered: 14 February 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I have a 300 Weatherby and being using Fed 215 and Lee Hand Primer for about 15 years now. Never had a problem. I only use about 20 at a time and wear safety glasses. IMO primer tubes are more dangerous or can be.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been using federal primers in the lee autoprime for about 20 years without a problem.

Posts: 3104 | Location: alberta,canada | Registered: 28 January 2002Reply With Quote
One Of Us
Picture of new_guy
posted Hide Post
I would suspect that Federal doesn't like the design and/or concept behind the Lee primer and has notified Lee that their primers (for liability reasons) should not be used... otherwise Lee would be concerned with all primers, wouldn't they?

www.heymusa.com

HSC Booth # 306
SCI Booth # 3947

one of us
posted Hide Post
My wife and I have been using a Lee Auto-prime for years without a mishap. We only use Fed 205M primers. A fellow BR shooter, from Maine, however had a fully loaded Lee explode in his hand last year. He was using Fed 205M primers. It was his good fortune to have had good eye protection on when this occurred.

Posts: 868 | Location: maryland | Registered: 25 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post
quote:
Does Lee have something against Fedral primers?