New
Find
Notify
Tools

new guy needs help
 Login/Join

<SWAMPFOOT>
posted
ok at the risk of pissing off some of the old timers on this board. i am new to handloading . i have purchased and began reading and studying the abcs of relaoding,speer manual #12 that came w/rockchucker kit,the hogdon data manual #27 and sierra 50 th not here yet but allegedly in the mail.my question being new to this and enjoying life in general and not wanting to blow myself up i have looked up loads for my 280 rem and im looking to load the sierra 150 gr bt spitzer but none of these manuals have this exact bullet listed is it ok to use say the info from a 150 nosler part load in one of the books,starting low that is, because i know the bullets are a little diff. ive even went and looked at 145 gr load again diff from the 150 load i want but spitzer type bullet and do some averaging maybe in the powders. maybe im being to cautious. how do you people decide where to begin w/new bullet and new load not listed in any manuals.im sure the sierra manual will probably have it but its not here yet. please help out a newbie.

i have so far rel 22 powder they were out of the imr 4831 at the time i purchased the powder i will get some next time.
if you have any loads w/bullet and this powder you can tell me, thanks in advance.

Administrator
posted Hide Post
SWAMPFOOT,

Welcome to the forum.

You can go ahead and use any data for any 150 grain bullet, just make sure you start with the starting load, and work up from there.

There are differences between bullets from different makers, just as there are differences in the powder lot and rifles used to develop these loads.

I ma sure you will enjoy reloading and shooting your own ammo.

Best of luck.

------------------
saeed@ emirates.net.ae

www.accuratereloading.com

Posts: 67041 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Just to get you started...