New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mr. Audette's Method (Load Development)
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am a beginner in the sport & hobby. I found your forum yesterday and I would like to say there's alot going on here that I wish I knew about earlier.

I'm just getting my reloading equipment together and trying to read the two manuals I just purchased Lyman's 48th Edition Reloading Handbook & Modern Reloading by Richard Lee.

I am looking to reload my CZ 550 American Model .308 Win. 22" Barrel and 1:12 Rate of Twist.

I've come to this forum to ask for advice and suggestions. I want to learn the correct way or at least a way that has some sort of method to its discipline.

I came across a topic posted on Feb.6, 2007 where Hot Core shared the Load Development Method of Mr. Creighton Audette. I think this is the method I want to adopt from my very first beginnings. Thank you for sharing!

I would also like to ask what type of Powder/ Bullet combination one would suggest I begin with.

My son & I would be recreational target shooting 100% of the time with this rifle.

95% of the time we have only access to a 100 yard target at a local range.

Although I haven't reloaded yet, I did pick up some Sierra Matchking 168 HPBT & 175 HPBT from my local gun shop and some Winchester LR Primers.

I purchased the single-stage LEE CAST PRESS and LEE DELUXE DIE SET, other LEE products for case preparation & a DILLON SCALE.

Could anyone share with me the powders that they use that have proven themself for this caliber, bullet weight, rate of twist, and barrel length as I begin my load development.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I seek to learn as much as I can before I press my first bullet.

Thak you very much!!!

Posts: 3430 | Registered: 24 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MarkH
posted Hide Post
Hi LB

For 0.308 with SMK 168 the std receipe is 42.3 gn Reloader 15.