New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lee Collets, neck sizing and lever guns
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I need to get a set of dies to load .35 Remington for my Marlin 336. I'm new to reloading and doing a lot of reading first. I see a lot of good press about Lee Collet dies and as I understand it collet dies are neck sizing dies. Lee offers both FL dies (Pacesetter) and Collet dies for the .35 Rem. On the same page they don't recommend neck sizing for cartridges to be used in levers and pumps. I have read that elswhere and also read that hunting loads, too, should be full sized.

What's the reasoning behind these recommendations?

Posts: 1688 | Location: East Coast | Registered: 06 January 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The recommendation to full-length size is to make sure the cartridges will chamber easily.

posted Hide Post
They also recommend you crimp the case to the bullet in lever action rifles because of the tube magazines . The bullets when seated wont have enough tension to keep them from pushing back into the cases when they are stacked inside the magazine.
I would only FL size using a Lever action.

Posts: 17 | Location: Tuolumne Co | Registered: 10 April 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the good advice guys.

As an aside I ordered a set of Lee Dies for my .303 Savage, they are full length but have no crimping die. These should be OK since the gun uses a rotary magazine, correct?

Posts: 1688 | Location: East Coast | Registered: 06 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
They should be OK if it is the Lee full length sizer set.

Posts: 9207 | Registered: 22 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post