Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

hand presses
 Login/Join

posted
I'm just getting into reloading. The thing is I am planning a move soon, so I don't want to invest a lot /set up a bench for the time being.
Wandering what opinions may be out there on a box set up, particularly the Lee hand press kit?

Posts: 18 | Location: NC | Registered: 19 April 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of model7LSS
posted Hide Post
i dont have any personal experience with one, but i would go ahead and buy a good single stage press. I have used a C clamp to set mine up many places, including my moms dining room table, which needless to say she was pissed about. Anyway, i would suggest buying a kit, like RCBSs RC supreme master kit. If you decide reloading is not for you, they hardly lose any resale value, as i have seen ten year old kits on ebay in the 250-300 price range, about what they are new. Or put it for sale in the classified section of this website, someone will gobble it up. good luck

Auburn University BS '09, DVM '17

Posts: 604 | Location: Selma, AL | Registered: 16 January 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I will only be loading/shooting around 40/50 rds a week untill i move. Can a hand press satisfy me for a few months or should I just pony up and get a more permanant set up?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
GET the lee hand press, you will load very good ammo with it and you can bring it to the range. they are worth twice what they cost.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
When I started handloading I had only two nickels to rub together and was in an efficiency appt. so had no room whatsoever to setup a press.

I started with rifle center fire reloading and used a lee loader kit for about $25.00. They are sold by lee on their web site and all you really need to get going is the brass,primer,powder and bullet and a block of wood and a rubber mallot. I was surprised at the quality of the rounds produced.