Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

newbie die question
 Login/Join

posted
Hello people! I'm new to reloading and new to the forum so please excuse this question if its been worn out. I spent about 3 hours reading here but didn't really find the answer that I was looking for. I found so much interesting stuff that I got side tracked.

Anyway, I have been trying to gather up everything to get started reloading. I bought an Lee challenger kit last week. I still need to get a set of dies. I'm on a tight budget so they will probably be Lee dies. I'm not sure which ones will be the best for my application though. I plan on reloading .223 rem for use in an Ar 15. I was planning on buying the pacesetter set . It has a full length sizer, factory crimp, and a bullet seater. After doing some reading I have noticed that a lot of people don't crimp. Isn't crimping necessary if they are going to be used in a semi auto? And do I need to use a small base die? My reloads will only be shot out of my Ar 15.

Posts: 15 | Location: Hot Springs, AR U.S.A. | Registered: 31 July 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
you will not need to crimp as long as you have adaquate neck tension. SB die only if you have a tight chamber.
I do crimp my loads and I do use small based dies for my hunting loads in a semi auto.
with a rifle that has a bit of recoil the bullet may inch out or be driven in and cause a lot of problems.
Dave

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I use standard Redding dies for my AR.
I do not use a small base die, and I do not crimp.

Unless you are shooting the big bore magnums, it's generally not necessary.

Posts: 3034 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 01 July 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post