Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Newbie reloader being too cautious?
 Login/Join

posted
What are normal consistency tolerances for reloaded ammunition? I finally got all my equipment set up and ran 20 rounds of .40 S&W through it.

The instructions with my dies show a starting load of 7.7 grains (0.55 cc) and designates the 0.53 cc autodisk chamber. Hornady specifies a maximum load for a 155 grain HP-XTP (hollowpoint but I assume similar enough) of 8.8 grains of HS-6. So I went with the 0.53 cc (HS-6 VWD is 0.07120, yielding 7.4 grains of powder).

I loaded:
Once-fired Winchester .40 S&W brass
Berry's Preferred Plated 155 grain
Hodgdon HS-6 with the 0.53 auto-disk
Winchester Small Pistol WSP Primer

Then, since I'm just getting started here, I thought it might be prudent to go through and weigh/measure all 20 rounds to make sure I will have both hands after firing this batch. Out of 20 rounds, I came up with an average weight of 233.6 grains total cartridge. The heaviest was 235.1 and the lightest was 229.9.

Should I be concerned about such a significant difference in this batch? I know that some of the variance comes from the components. I figure primers are pretty consistent and negligible. Of the once-fired brass, I tested 20 and came up with a 2.4 grain variation from max to min and the bullets had a 0.7 grain variance.

Thanks for any help or advice you can provide this newbie.

One of Us
Picture of Beefa
posted Hide Post
Mate I always check every fifth case for powder accuracy from the powder chuker and always test randomly too

Beefa270: Yes I really love my 270win

Posts: 114 | Location: Southern Sydney Australia | Registered: 05 May 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Tyler Kemp
posted Hide Post
I am a pretty new reloader and I throw every charge and trickle it to weight. I understand handgun is different in the amount of rounds you shoot though. You should be able to look in the case to make sure the amount of powder is the same in each.