THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Funny or embarrassing moments with reloading????

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Funny or embarrassing moments with reloading????
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Friends-

Hard to believe, I have been handloading for 30 years. And the more I reload, the more I realize that there is still so much to learn. So, I thought this might make for some light hearted reading.

I know in 30 years I have done some really "bone headed" things in handloading. So, I am going to "throw myself under the bus" first.

The other night I was handloading some .22-250 rounds. I use a ball powder (thank God) and everything was going just swell. I have a Pact electronic scale and dispenser. Push the button and out dumps your load. How easy is that. While it's despensing another load of powder, you just pop the case in the die, stick the bullet on top and press case into the die and "presto chango" out comes a loaded round right?

Well all was going well, repeated the steps and had just dumped a load of powder into the case. Picked up the case, put it into the shell-holder but, I sensed something wasn't quite right. I went ahead and put the bullet on the case and ran it into the die. I grabbed the round from the shell-holder to put the "loaded" round in the loading block and I noticed something spilling into my hand. It was ball powder.

Duh, no primer. I then looked at all of the cases in my loading block and long story short, there was a column of five rounds that I had missed priming.

Needless to say, I had to prime the remaing rounds, pull the bullet on the other round, prime, load, etc., etc.

OK, so no belly laughs but, I look back on and laugh.

Who's next??

May the wind be in your face and the sun at your back.

P. Mark Stark