New
Find
Notify
Tools

Neck tension on Fire Formed Brass
 Login/Join

posted
Guys,
I'm new to reloading and new to the forum, and seeking some education.

Working up a hunting load for my 300 win mag (73 to 76 grain RL22, Nos. Brass, WLRM primer, Nos. 180 gr. partition).

Anyway, I've noticed that my neck tension when seating fire formed brass is tighter than compared to new brass. I'm looking forward to the learnign process and thankful that forums like this exist.

Brent

Posts: 10 | Location: Texas | Registered: 03 September 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Brent, that can often be the case. Dies vary slightly, and when resizing, the neck can very easily be constricted by your die to a tighter inside diameter dimension than your original brass.

(I am assuming you mean that you notice this when seating bullets in your newly sized fire formed brass vs your original reloads.)

This should not be an issue. It is a pretty advanced reloading stage, and many (including me) feel that really tinkering with neck tension, unless yours is too loose, is a technique best left for benchrest rigs.

Having said that, if you want to control your neck tension precisely, then you can purchase bushing sizing dies, and precisely control how much your neck is squeezed down during sizing--you can even go to neck sizing only, until your cases have swollen too much to chamber properly, in which case you would use a body die, sizing only the body, possibly bumping the shoulder back, and then neck sizing your brass--all this and then you can look into 'neck turning' your brass, basically trimming the thickness of your cases in the neck area only! This is a quick synopsis and again all this is advanced stage reloading stuff, and IMO is mostly overkill for hunting ammo....

But I do own a few neck sizing, body and shoulder bump dies Smiler