New
Find
Notify
Tools

Neck Sizing
 Login/Join

<RJY>
posted
Question on neck sizing. I've been reloading for two years only handgun. I will be starting to load for my .223 and was wondering if when neck sizing if you still have to lube cases. I've read in manuals about reloading rifle cases and they talk about lubing but they don't say if you have to or not when neck sizing. Thanks for the help.

one of us
posted Hide Post
the only time you don't need to lubricate, is if you are using a collet type of neck sizer, that squeezes the brass against a mandrel without any sliding up or down. The expander button on a regular fl sizer die is where I see about 95 percent of my case neck stretching. I measure them after firing, before sizing and after sizing. It's amazing how much stretch your cases get, even when they are lubed inside and out, prior to sizing.

Posts: 323 | Location: N.Central Texas | Registered: 28 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
When neck sizing I always lightly lube the inside of the case mouth and outside of the neck.
Try a case without lube and one with lube and you should notice quiet a difference in the ammount of pressure needed on the press handle.
Never ever FL without lube. I only needed one stuck case to learn that one. [Frown]

Posts: 268 | Location: God's Country, East Tex. USA | Registered: 08 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post
In neck or bushing dies I NEVER lubricate.

Posts: 1261 | Location: Placerville, CA, US of A | Registered: 07 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post
Even with the collet dies, I tend to run a brush through the inside of the necks. Seems to increase consistency in my groups. FWIW, Dutch.

Posts: 4564 | Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA | Registered: 21 September 2000Reply With Quote
<Reloader66>
posted